Jimmy Ringo Goes to Cayenne – The Gunfighter (1950)

Hanging up the holster. So this is about the fastest gun in the West, Jimmy Ringo (Gregory Peck). His reputation precedes him wherever he goes. He wants to reunite with the former love of his life (Helen Westcott), and he is certainly not looking for trouble, but it seems like trouble has a way of finding him, regardless of what town he rides into. Now, I can’t say I knew much about this one. I love my Westerns, it was readily available on a streaming service I had access to, and the 85-minute runtime fit the amount of time I had on an afternoon. I’m a little shocked I have never heard anyone talk about this before, because I think this is right in the same league as something like High Noon.

They would probably fit great together as a double feature.

The Gunfighter reminded me of High Noon in more ways than one, with the biggest reason being that there is a time crunch. It’s not as prominent as High Noon since time is practically its own character in that film, but there is a ticking clock on the wall and a deadline, which helps to establish a sense of urgency. The Gunfighter almost plays like an inverse High Noon in that instead of trying to rally the troops for a showdown, Jimmy Ringo just wants to repel the general public and be left alone. I don’t know if this is just me getting up there in years, but I tend to gravitate more towards these older characters who are tired and simply looking to peacefully exist in the world. He can’t walk into a bar without being recognized, and once he gets made, he’s either promptly asked to leave town or challenged by some young punk who is trying to make a name for himself by shooting the most infamous gun in the West. I thought Gregory Peck was great in this as the lead, and while I thought he was a bit wooden in The Omen, this movie made me recognize how much screen presence he can bring to the table. He sells it, too; there are so many people interested in just poking the bear in this, and he is resolute in only fighting back when absolutely necessary. I also love how petty Jimmy Ringo gets in the very end. I won’t spoil it, but I will say the dialogue he gives as the film is closing leaves a big impression.

This movie sells you on the dream of living on a ranch in the middle of nowhere.

This has all the markings of a Western classic for me, and if you’re a fan of the genre, this is a must-see. It’s not spaghetti; it’s more old school where the good guys wear white hats, and the bad guys wear black hats, but where this flips the script is that you’re following a sympathetic black hat. I would gladly watch this again, and I reserve the right to come back and rate this higher if this ends up working its way into my heavy rotation.

The Gunfighter (1950) ****1/2

– Critic for Hire

Leave a comment