Iron MEN – Iron Man 3 (2013)

More of a good thing.  So Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) still has a lot on his mind after he almost died in a wormhole in The Avengers.  He can’t sleep, has high anxiety, and is suffering from what appears to be PTSD.  He’s going to have to put all of that aside when a mysterious terrorist known as the Mandarin steps on the scene with high levels threats against the United States.  Now I know this was met with a mostly positive, but somewhat mixed response when it hit theaters back in 2013.  I was never apart of that crowd, and was very entertained by everything that this installment has to offer.  While my enthusiasm has since died down years after the fact, it’s only slightly, and I really enjoyed myself upon a revisit as I start my way back through Phase 2.

1I think that RDJ is the Sean Connery of Iron Man, and I don’t think we will ever see anybody play the role better.

Now this is the reunion between very formidable forces: Robert Downey Jr. and writer/director Shane Black.  If you still haven’t taken my advice in the very first blog post I ever wrote, please stop reading this and go watch Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, you won’t regret it.  They just understand each other as artists; Shane Black gets that you have to constantly be filming Downey Jr. when he is acting because he is so capable of thinking of something perfect in the moment, and RDJ knows how to play an arrogant playboy.  The one very notable stamp that Shane Black puts on this is that the jokes in here are really funny, probably the funniest of the series with the exception of the first Guardians of the Galaxy (but that all depends on who you talk to).  It is what keeps you going, and you’re always waiting to see what quip is going to be said next, which is exactly what this collaboration brings to the table.

2And it just wouldn’t be a Shane Black movie without buddy cops on Christmas, right?

The action in this is also top notch.  I know the plane sequence is short, but it is exhilarating.  It is not only one of my favorite action sequences in this universe, but it is also right up there as being one of my favorite action scenes of all time (I have this button about plane crashes, let’s talk Lost).  The special effects look great, and they really do put you right there in the moment, especially during the mansion destruction scene.  There are a few small negatives about this, like how the story gets a little unfocused at times and how the character that Guy Pearce is playing is a little too similar to the character that Sam Rockwell just played in the previous film.  I don’t mind what they do with the Mandarin though; even though I’m not all that familiar with the Iron Man comics, from what I’ve heard, this is a step up.  Iron Man 3 is still in my top third of Marvel movies, and is grade A in my book.

Iron Man 3 (2013) ****

– Critic for Hire

Leave a Reply

