Into the Streets – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

This series just isn’t for me.  So after the events in the first movie, the turtles are getting restless and jealous that they are not getting any limelight for saving the day.  All of the baddies seem to be teaming up for world domination, and the turtles are going to have to get past their differences to take down Bebop, Rocksteady, Shredder, and the mysterious Krang.  I have come to terms with the fact that these movies were not made with me in mind.  While it existed during my childhood, I never watched the turtles growing up, so I don’t have that connection point.  I don’t remember much of the first movie, other than I had low to neutral feelings about it.  It’s just a movie that’s geared towards 10 – 11 year olds, and while there’s nothing inherently wrong with that, it doesn’t have a whole lot to offer for audiences outside of that demographic.

1Perhaps I am just getting old, who can say.

I’m not a fan of the juvenile sense of humor, it’s dopey and corny more than anything.  It also doesn’t fit, either.  To explain, you go so long forgetting that the main characters are supposed to be teenagers because they’re giant anthropomorphic turtles, but the main reason why this gets forgotten is that you have one of them quoting adult movies like Scarface.  It’s both odd and jarring.  I imagine the cartoons make more sense, and I can see this working in a 20-minute format way more than a full feature length 100 minutes, but I’m not somebody who can verify that.  Nobody is taking this seriously, which is fine when you have actors like Will Arnett and Tyler Perry (who is essentially playing Neil Degrasse Tyson… yeah), but for reasons unbeknownst to me, they got a legitimate actress in Laura Linney for a supporting role and gave her nothing to do but to play a stereotype.

2But maybe I’m asking too much from a movie with a talking warthog and a rhinoceros. 

I don’t hate this, I just couldn’t connect with it.  These are movies for young children, and they’re not for anybody else.  If you take your 11 year old kid to this, they’ll probably dig it, and they will feel like they are getting away with something because there is light language.  There’s a pretty cool plane sequence around the midpoint, and just like the avalanche scene from the first movie, it ends up being the stand out piece of the movie.  The thing I appreciated most was that after just watching two sequels that were just remakes of their predecessor, this was at least moving forward with a new story and light character development.   It’s goofy, and I wish it had a broader appeal to it.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016) **1/2

– Critic for Hire

Leave a Reply

