Bro-Down – Entourage (2015)

Disgusting people.  Based on the hit HBO series, this is about this group of bros in Hollywood, getting the band together one more time for Vince’s (Adrian Grenier) directorial debut.  Now I will be the first one to admit: I have zero familiarity with this show.  I’ve never at any point in my life had HBO, so my viewing options are limited, especially when the show isn’t something that ever appealed to me in the first place.  I decided to give this a shot, and I had no other choice but to judge it at face value.  And what is my first impression of Entourage?  These are some of the worst human beings portrayed onscreen, and entertainment like this is the reason why other countries hate America.

DSC_6169.tiffI kind of hated every single one of these characters.

Now I do realize that I didn’t do myself any favors by just jumping into the movie without having any background in the show.  From what I’ve heard from people who have watched the show, it plays like a really long episode.  But as an introduction to these characters, this does not serve as a good jumping on point because all you’re getting is the extent that self-absorption can reach, which I supposed is a reflection of how Los Angeles can be at times.   It is okay if you have shallow and superficial characters, but when every single one of them is brimming with this degree of narcissism, it’s difficult to relate to unless you have already developed some sort of previous standing connection with these people.  The only person I remotely liked here was Jeremy Piven’s character of Ari Gold, as he didn’t seem to suffer from the same delusions of grandeur, and you can tell that he is well aware that he’s not a great person.

DSC_2492.tiffPiven’s a pro, though, and he always shows up to work.

The most noteworthy thing about this is just how little substance there is here; it’s not like these guys are learning life lessons or anything, it’s just them hungry for the spotlight and that’s really about it as far as the story goes.  Everything else is them bro-ing out, pursuing girls and giving each other a hard time.  When I say there’s barely a script here, I am not exaggerating, and so much about this is just moving from celebrity cameo to celebrity cameo ad nauseam.  The story is about as satisfying as watching a 100 minute long music video, and while I’ve heard mixed things about the TV series, and I can tell you one thing for sure: I have no desire to go back and start this journey from the beginning.

Entourage (2015) *

– Critic for Hire

One thought on “Bro-Down – Entourage (2015)

Leave a Reply

