Watch Her Flounder – Spy (2015)

It’s another Paul Feig/Melissa McCarthy comedy.  Have you ever wondered what makes the superspy so invincible?  It’s actually because they have backup in their ear, giving them the extra edge they need.  This focuses on a duo (McCarthy/Jude Law), but when she is forced to go into the field, she’s got a lot to learn in a very short amount of time if she wants to prevent nuclear weapons from falling into the hands of terrorists.  Now I know I may be in the minority here, but I’ve been over Melissa McCarthy for a long time now.  Everybody loves Bridesmaids, but I wasn’t impressed.  The majority of people I have talked to like The Heat, but I absolutely deplore it.  Everybody was raving about this, critics included, so I had to check it out, and I can’t say that I’m surprised: it’s the same old song that McCarthy has been singing for her entire career.

1She’s fat, and she falls over stuff.

I don’t like being the odd one out, and I really don’t know if it’s just me, but comedy is subjective, and I don’t find McCarthy’s shtick funny.  To be fair, I will say that I didn’t watch this in a crowd environment, so that might be a part of the issue, but I am fairly confident that even if I watched this in a theater, I would have had my arms folded and would have enjoyed it at the same level as I did at home, by myself.  I just don’t enjoy the repeated punchline; there’s always some joke about how she’s fat and/or unappealing, and it is followed up with her improvising something crass.  It’s all she does, and the only time I’ve ever seen her deviate was in St. Vincent.  I will say that this could have been worse; I got a few chuckles out of this, but they were all small, and I was largely unamused.

2No pun intended.

A few positives: I like Jude Law in this, and I don’t think he would make a bad James Bond.  I also liked Jason Statham’s rants, as he is largely poking fun at the rest of his career, making jokes about defibrillating himself like he does in Crank.  With the exception of the opening scene, I don’t think many of the jokes or set-ups are all that creative, and they try to get you to laugh by just cutting away, which is a lazy at its core.  I do realize that I’m in the minority, but I rate movies for myself, and this was exactly what I expected to be: as lame as its title.  Sorry.

Spy (2015) **

– Critic for Hire

Leave a Reply

