Score Spikes and Jelly Feet – Insidious: Chapter 3 (2015)

I’m mostly done with the series.  So taking a step back from the Lamberts, this is a prequel focusing on a completely different family that experiences a similar haunting.  This is a series that I have mostly liked, but I will be damned if I can say that I remember any specific details from any of the installments.  The only thing I think of when this series comes up in conversation is the huge number of jump scares and the demon that looks strikingly similar to Darth Maul, and if you were to try to get me to tell you anything specific about the running plot, you should prepare to be sorely disappointed.

darthTell me I’m wrong.

I’m going to tell you right off the bat: if you are the type of person that is considering watching this, you are much better off just watching the superior It Follows.  This is a series that has pretty much shown you already everything that it has to offer: you have a haunting, people that communicate with the dead, and an empty sound stage where people with lanterns like to go to hang out, and that’s pretty much it.  The original Insidious was one of the movies that launched the cheap horror movement courtesy of Jason Blum.  I appreciated that a lot, because I do believe that breaking away from bloated big budget Hollywood is something that more filmmakers should strive for.  As much as I support that idea, I wish I liked these movies more, because this series is the worst with having jump scares underscored by score swells.  Seriously, it’s to the point where I feel like I should apologize to the other movies I’ve criticized for this in the past, because this is the most egregious offender (sorry, The Lazarus Effect).  It’s not enough that you have an undead demon ghost popping up out of nowhere, you have to deafen your audience with the LOUDEST score spikes out there, to the point that you’re left blinking like a soldier who just had a landmine go off ten feet in front of him.

landmineSeriously.

I really feel like they are running out of ideas here, and this is really just more of the same.  I like the comedic relief ghost hunters, but they’ve always been a bright spot for when they show up in the third act in every one of these.  It’s really like Paranormal Activity syndrome at this point: how many movies can you watch where it is just this one ghost being a jerk?  It feels like they are making up rules as they and while this movie does have its effective moments, I’m really just starting to get tired of it, and they are really going to have to bring some invigorating ideas to the table if they want to win me back with further chapters.

Insidious: Chapter 3 (2015) **1/2

– Critic for Hire

Leave a Reply

