I’ve Run out of Review Titles for These Movies – Puppet Master: Axis of Evil (2010)

I think it goes without saying, but I don’t think this series needed to last this long.  So when the puppets are recovered by a young man (Levi Fiehler) moments after Toulon pulled the trigger, he inherits the position of puppet master.  He also has dreams of joining the war effort, but cannot do so due to an injury, but the war might just come to him…  The biggest thing I have difficulty believing is the year this was released in: 2010.  That’s this decade.  There have been so many developments in technology, and this still looks like it was shot maybe a year after the original.  For one thing, they are still recycling footage from previous movies; honestly, I thought I had accidentally queued up Puppet Master 1 by mistake, because it literally uses the same exact opening sequence, like Puppet Master 8 wasn’t brazen enough (it’s hard to tell your movies apart when they feature so much of your other movies in them).

pinheadWhen you break it down, there’s actually only 3 hours of footage across all ten movies. 

There’s really not a whole lot to be said about these films that I haven’t already stated previously.  The most memorable thing about this is that this features a Japanese woman who is Shatnering all over the place, which is at least unintentionally entertaining.  I feel like with this series, the latest movie keeps one-upping the previous one with how bad the acting is, and I think 7-9 were made to make you look back on 6 with fondness.

josh greenI never thought I’d say this, but I wish they wrote Josh Green back into the story. 

On top of it all, this has a very awkward sense of humor, and it does a number of racial things that really don’t feel cool given the year this was released in.  I feel like I keep coming back to this, but what do you want to see from a movie about killer puppets?  Maybe to have them actually kill things?  The first puppet death in this movie is 65 minutes in, and as per usual with this series, it saves everything you’re interested in seeing for the last 15 minutes.  Why is it so impossible not to just go hog wild and have these puppets go on a killing spree?  Introduce a cast of 15 in the first 20 minutes, and then spend the rest of the movie having the puppets systematically eliminating them, it’s what all the fans want.  I honestly believe I could make a better Puppet Master movie than these later sequels, it doesn’t seem that complicated.

Puppet Master: Axis of Evil (2010) *1/2

– Critic for Hire

2 thoughts on “I’ve Run out of Review Titles for These Movies – Puppet Master: Axis of Evil (2010)

Leave a Reply

